Coffee… Who Likes To Moan?

My moan today is the principle behind having to do something and wanting to do something. Standard office procedures; the lazy staff really want a hot drink, but they wait for the least lazy person to boil the kettle. At which point this person feels obliged to offer the group a drink, the sucker. Everyone knew it was a waiting game and they just lost; this tends to be me.

I once worked for an old fart who was the Managing Director of a company. He went by the principle that companies were run like they were thirty years ago. Where managers sat in fat leather chairs gulping down a whiskey in their own “cafeteria” area which consisted of a three course meal with silver cutlery. No word of a lie to young readers, this is how it worked before things got changed.  My MD was mistaken to think I was going to be okay with having my important work interrupted to bow down to his every need. He would walk up behind where I’m sat and I would ignore him completely looking engulfed in my work, occasionally looking slyly to the other graduate who also disliked having to make hot beverages on demand. This was another matter of the waiting game, also referred to as “boss chicken”.

MD: “Well, is there anyone who can make me a cup of tea?”

Moments pass and I don’t acknowledge the MD hoping that the other graduate will cave in shortly. To pass the awkwardness I picture the MD feeling just as uncomfortable behind me.

MD: “Well?”

Urgh, that’s it I really am going to have to get up. Just hold out a little longer… the new guy will cave…

Other graduate: “I’ll bring one in to you”. Boss retreats back to his primeval cave (blue partitioned walls-yuck) without offering the bare minimum “thank you” and I look with a smirk at the graduate.

Being forced to make coffee for a person who hasn’t even gathered the principle of manners, even with their 30 something years advantage over me is just something even I am unwilling to lose. Anyone for a game of boss chicken?

7 comments
  1. Fahrettin Berber said:

    Probably you are arabic

  2. This is a great blog post, but it’s left me rather parched…who’s going to get me a cup of tea?

  3. Fahrettin Berber said:

    I liked your professionalism.Do you want to work with me

  4. Fahrettin Berber said:

    overheard nothing

  5. Fahrettin Berber said:

    I mean I love very much arabic coffee also

Leave a Reply

